Saturday, 10 February 2018

Blog Tour & Book Review: Unconvicted by Olly Jarvis



Title: Unconvicted
Author: Olly Jarvis
Publisher: Canelo
Publication Date: 29 January 2018

Twitter: @ollyjarviso


Genre: Legal Thriller
Previous books in the series: Cut-Throat Defence


Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Olly Jarvis’ new contemporary legal thriller, Unconvicted, and a big thank you to Ellie Pilcher from Canelo for inviting me to take part in the tour.


Blurb


In a razor-sharp legal thriller, Jack Kowalski must win two challenging trials to save his reputation and his career.


Junior barrister Jack Kowalski is crushed. His client Timothy Smart appears to have committed a monstrous crime while on bail – a bail application Jack fought hard to win.


When a high-profile Polish footballer is charged with rape and demands a fellow countryman represent him, Jack must overcome his guilt and get back to work. Before long he takes on a second case, a GBH for instructing solicitor Lara Panassai, who Jack remains desperate to impress. But neither case is what it seems, and Jack will face an extraordinary uphill battle to see that justice is done…


The second Jack Kowalski novel, Unconvicted is a gripping courtroom drama written with the expert insight of a practicing criminal barrister, perfect for fans of William L. Myers, Deborah Hawkins, and Scott Turow. 

Tuesday, 6 February 2018

Book Review: Midsummer Dreams by Alison May


Title: Midsummer Dreams
Author: Alison May
Publisher: Choc Lit
Publication Date: 12 January 2015

Twitter: @MsAlisonMay

Blurb

Four people. Four messy lives. One night that changes everything … 

Emily is obsessed with ending her father’s new relationship – but is blind to the fact that her own is far from perfect.
 
Dominic has spent so long making other people happy that he’s hardly noticed he’s not happy himself. 

Helen has loved the same man, unrequitedly, for ten years. Now she may have to face up to the fact that he will never be hers.
 
Alex has always played the field. But when he finally meets a girl he wants to commit to, she is just out of his reach. 

At a midsummer wedding party, the bonds that tie the four friends together begin to unravel and show them that, sometimes, the sensible choice is not always the right one.

A modern retelling of Shakespeare’s Midsummer Night’s Dream.
 

Monday, 5 February 2018

Book Review: Just the Way You Are by Lynsey James



Title: Just The Way You Are
Author: Lynsey James
Publisher: Carina
Publication Date: 8 May 2015

Twitter: @Lynsey1991

Blurb

Dear Ava,
How do you start writing a letter to someone, six years after breaking their heart? 

Ava is unlucky in love as well as in life. The new office bitch has landed the dating column Ava wanted, and she can't remember the last time she had a second date. It's a good thing she has best friends Max and Gwen to pick up the pieces.

Deep down, Ava knows the reason why one date never turns into two - she's in love with someone else. Someone she's never even met.

It all started six years ago, with a letter from a secret admirer, Mr Writer... but then they suddenly stopped and Ava was heartbroken.

Now the letters have started again and Ava knows it could mean winning back the dating column at work. This time she's determined to unmask Mr Writer... and find out once and for all if he's Mr Right or Mr Very Definitely Wrong!

Review

Things just aren’t going well for Ava. She’s unlucky in love, lost out on a job to her awful colleague and her best friend’s girlfriend hates her!

Just when things seem at their worst, an old secret admirer pops out of the woodwork. Ava had received letters from ‘Mr Writer’ six years earlier and despite those letters stopping, Ava has never really been able to get over this anonymous admirer. Who is Mr Writer? Should she put her trust in him again after her let her down 6 years previously? Could she cope with further rejection? Is it wrong to use the situation as a story to push herself ahead at work? So many questions are milling around in Ava’s head…

If you’ve ever had a secret admirer, you’ll know what an odd experience it is. There’s someone out there who knows you, someone who might be your perfect match, someone who you may never have thought of in that way before. Would you want to know who that admirer is or would you be scared that their identity could prove to be a disappointment…?

Just The Way You Are is a heart-warming story with an intriguing premise. The plot is well-constructed and well-paced. It will grab the reader’s attention, as will the little sub-plots that help push the book along (particularly Ivy’s story).

The characters are appealing and likeable. Ava is a great protagonist and Gwen and Max are certainly the type of friends that everyone needs by their side – supporting Ava through the rough patches in her life. Even the antagonist (Maddie) is great fun to dislike!

Just The Way You Are is chock full of friendship, romance and fun. A great read for fans of romances and ‘chick-lit’.

About the Author

LYNSEY JAMES was born in Fife and is an incurable bookworm. A careers adviser at school once told her writing wasn’t a “good option”, so Lynsey has tried a little bit of everything, including make-up artistry, teaching and doing admin for a chocolate fountain company. Now, she finally has fulfilled her dream and is writing full-time. When not writing, eating cake or drinking tea, she’s daydreaming about the day Matthew Gray Gubler finally realises they’re meant to be together. It’ll happen one day… Follow her on Twitter at @Lynsey1991



Buy Links


Thursday, 1 February 2018

Book Review: Her Husband's Lover by Julia Crouch


Title: Her Husband’s Lover
Author: Julia Crouch
Publisher: Headline
Publication Date: 26 January 2017 (ePub) 15 June 2017 (paperback)


Blurb

She stole her husband. Now she wants to steal her life.

After the horrors of the past, Louisa Williams is desperate to make a clean start.

Her husband Sam is dead. Her children, too, are gone, victims of the car accident in which he died.

Sam said that she would never get away from him. That he would hound her to death if she tried to leave. Louisa never thought that he would want to harm their children though.

But then she never thought that he would betray her with a woman like Sophie.

And now Sophie is determined to take all that Louisa has left. She wants to destroy her reputation and to take what she thinks is owed her – the life she would have had if Sam had lived.

Her husband’s lover wants to take her life. The only question is will Louisa let her?