Tuesday, 10 April 2018

Blog Tour & Extract: Box of Bones by Peter Morfoot



Title:  Box of Bones
Author: Peter Morfoot
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: 3 April 2018
Genre: Thriller

Twitter: @PeterMorfoot

I am delighted to have an exclusive extract for today's stop on the blog tour for Box of Bones, the third novel in the Captain Darac series by Peter Morfoot. 

First, it might help to have some idea of the what to expect from Box of Bones.

Blurb

It is Carnival time in Nice, and for three weeks the boulevards are alive with dancers, jugglers and musicians. Amid the colour and pageantry, a man suffers a fatal fall – the first in a series of suspicious deaths. 

Captain Paul Darac of the Brigade Criminelle is sure the answer lies in the mystery surrounding a daring bank heist, supposedly resolved years ago. But the reopening of the case rattles his usually equable relationship with his boss, and soon the safety of his friends, his colleagues and his family is at stake.

Monday, 2 April 2018

Book Review: The Temptation of Gracie by Santa Montefiore



Title: The Temptation of Gracie
Author: Santa Montefiore
Publication Date: 12 July 2018

Twitter: @santamontefiore

Blurb

Never give up on your dreams, no matter how long you hold on to them...

When Gracie Burton stumbles upon an advertisement for a week long cookery course in the heart of the Tuscan countryside, she cannot resist, and ploughs her life savings into the trip.

Her own family - daughter Carina and granddaughter Anastasia - are hesitant about what has prompted this seemingly random venture.

But they have no sense of Gracie's past; of what could possibly be calling her to Italy. They have no idea that Gracie is harbouring the secret of an extraordinary life that preceded them ...

Bestselling author, Santa Montefiore, returns with an unforgettable tale of love lost and rediscovered, set across the beautiful landscape of Italy.

Saturday, 31 March 2018

Blog Tour & Book Review: We Were the Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard



Title: We Were the Salt of the Sea
Author: Roxanne Bouchard
Translated by: David Warriner
Publisher: Orenda Books
Publication Date: 28 February 2018

Website: roxannebouchard.comwww.orendabooks.co.uk
Twitter: @RBouchard72@OrendaBooks

Category/Genre: Literary/Crime Fiction

Thank you to Anne Cater and Orenda Books for inviting me to take part in the blog tour for We Were the Salt of the Sea by Roxanne Bouchard.

Blurb

Truth lingers in murky waters...

As Montrealer Catherine Day sets foot in a remote fishing village and starts asking around about her birth mother, the body of a woman dredges up in a fisherman's nets. Not just any woman, though: Marie Garant, an elusive, nomadic sailor and unbridled beauty who once tied many a man's heart in knots. Detective Sergeant Joaquin Morales, newly drafted to the area from the suburbs of Montreal, barely has time to unpack his suitcase before he's thrown into the deep end of the investigation.

On Quebec's outlying Gaspé Peninsula, the truth can be slippery, especially down on the fishermen's wharves. Interviews drift into idle chit-chat, evidence floats off with the tide and the truth lingers in murky waters. It's enough to make DS Morales reach straight for a large whisky...

Both a dark and consuming crime thriller and a lyrical, poetic ode to the sea, We were the Salt of the Sea is a stunning, page-turning novel, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

Monday, 26 March 2018

Books and the City's Spring Blogger Evening 2018




The Books and the City annual bloggers evening is always a fantastic event in which book bloggers and authors indulge in some shamelessly bookish conversation and eat the most fabulous cupcakes! It really is the highlight of my book events calendar and 2018 proved to be no exception.

First up was the chance to catch up with some of my lovely blogger friends, whom I only get to see once or twice a year, as well as meeting some other book blogger who I hadn't met in person before. It was also lovely to chat with the publishing team and meet the ten authors SJV and the team had arranged to be in attendance for the evening, several of whom I had met before.  It's great to get the opportunity to meet the person behind a book  and they seemed to be enjoying the evening just as much as the bloggers  





Next up was the official part of the evening - all ten authors read a 60 second (with strict instructions for the reading to be not a second longer!) excerpt from their most recent books and answered a few questions put to them by the lovely Jo Dickinson. Those authors and books deserve a brief introduction, so here goes...

Sunday, 18 March 2018

Book Review: Bonfire by Krysten Ritter




Title: Bonfire
Author: Krysten Ritter
Publisher: Cornerstone Digital & Windmill Books (Penguin RandomHouse)
Publication Date: 9 November 2017 (ePub & hardback), 9 August 2018 (paperback)

Twitter: @krystenritter

Blurb

Nothing burns as bright as the truth.

It has been ten years since Abby Williams left home and scrubbed away all evidence of her small town roots. Now working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has a thriving career, a modern apartment, and her pick of meaningless one-night stands.

But when a new case takes her back home to Barrens, Indiana, the life Abby painstakingly created begins to crack. Tasked with investigating Optimal Plastics, the town's economic heart, she begins to find strange connections to a decade-old scandal involving the popular Kaycee Mitchell and her friends—just before Kaycee disappeared for good.

But as Abby tries desperately to find out what happened to Kaycee, troubling memories begin to resurface and she begins to doubt her own observations. And when she unearths an even more disturbing secret, her search threatens the reputations, and lives, of the community and risks exposing a darkness that may consume her.

With tantalizing twists, slow-burning suspense, and a remote, rural town of five claustrophobic miles, Bonfire is a dark exploration of what happens when your past and present collide.

Monday, 26 February 2018

Blog Tour & Book Review: The Fire Pit by Chris Ould



Title: The Fire Pit (A Faroes novel #3)
Author: Chris Ould
Publisher:  Titan Books
Publication date:  20 February 2018


Previous publications: The Blood Strand & The Killing Bay

Curious Ginger Cat is delighted to host today’s stop on the blog tour for Chris Ould’s most recent release, The Fire Pit.

Blurb

“A winner for fans of both Scandinavian and British procedurals... a complicated tangle of secret motivations that fans of Henning Mankell and Elizabeth George will appreciate.” BOOKLIST (starred review) on THE BLOOD STRAND

In the wake of a dying man’s apparent suicide, the skeleton of a young woman is discovered on a windswept hillside. Detective Hjalti Hentze suspects that it is the body of a Norwegian woman reported missing forty years earlier, while a commune occupied the land, and whose death may be linked to the abduction and rape of a local Faroese girl.

Meanwhile British DI Jan Reyna is pursuing his investigation into his mother’s suicide. But as he learns more about her final days, links between the two cases start to appear: a conspiracy of murder and abuse spanning four decades. And as Hentze puts the same pieces together, he realizes that Reyna is willing to go further than ever before to learn the truth…

Friday, 23 February 2018

Book Review: The Sunday Lunch Club by Juliet Ashton #SundayLunchClub


Title: The Sunday Lunch Club
Author: Juliet Ashton
Publication Date:  19 April 2018
Twitter: @julietstories

Blurb

The first rule of Sunday Lunch Club is … don't make any afternoon plans.

Every few Sundays, Anna and her extended family and friends get together for lunch. They talk, they laugh, they bicker, they eat too much. Sometimes the important stuff is left unsaid, other times it's said in the wrong way.

Sitting between her ex-husband and her new lover, Anna is coming to terms with an unexpected pregnancy at the age of forty. Also at the table are her ageing grandmother, her promiscuous sister, her flamboyantly gay brother and a memory too terrible to contemplate.

Until, that is, a letter arrives from the person Anna scarred all those years ago. Can Anna reconcile her painful past with her uncertain future?

Juliet Ashton weaves a story of love, friendship and community that will move you to laughter and to tears. Think Cold Feet meets David Nicholls, with a dash of the joy of Jill Mansell added for good measure.